Print Email


The management of the Society, including oversight of the National Office and its staff, shall be vested in its Council, which shall consist of the officers, and six members of the Society elected as At-Large Members. The editor of Forum, the Editor(s) of the Journal of General Internal Medicine, the Chair of the Board of Regional Leaders, an Associate Member Representative and the President of ACLGIM shall serve as non-voting, ex officio members of the Council.


Jean S. Kutner, MD, MSPH

University of Colorado School of Medicine
Aurora, CO


Monica Lypson, MD, MHPE
The George Washington University
School of Medical and Health Sciences
Washington, DC



Hollis Day, MD, MS
Boston Medical Center
Boston, MA


Mitchell D. Feldman, MD, Mphil
University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine
San Francisco, CA



Gail Daumit, MD, MHS
The Johns Hopkins University School
Baltimore, MD

Immediate-Past President

Karen B. DeSalvo, MD, MPH, MSc
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX
GabyFrankweb.jpg 2021
Maria (Gaby) Frank, MD
Denver Health Hospital Authority
Denver, CO
Michael P. Pignone, MD, MPH
University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School
Austin, TX

Reena_Karani-web.jpg 2021
Reena Karani, MD, MHPE
Icahn School of Medicine - Mount Sinai 
New York, NY



Rita Lee, MD
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Aurora, CO

Margaret Lo, MD
University of Florida College of Medicine 
Gainesville, FL


Eleanor (Bimla) Schwarz, MD, MS
Professor, Internal Medicine; The University of California, Davis, School of Medicine and Center for Healthcare Research and Policy
Sacramento, CA

EX OFFICIO Chair, Board of Regional Leaders

Julie Oyler, MD
University of Chicago
Chicago, IL


EX OFFICIO Senior Editor, SGIM Forum

Tiffany Leung, MD, MPH
Maastricht University
Maastricht, Netherlands


Jeffrey Jackson, MD, MPH
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI

Associate Member Representative (2021)

Carlos Irwin A. Oronce, MD, MPH
National Clinician Scholars Program
Los Angeles, CA

Associate Member Representative (2022)

Janet Chu, MD, MPHGeneral Internal Medicine Fellow
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA

EX OFFICIO President, ACLGIM (2020-2021)

Dan Hunt, MD
Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta, GA


Eric B. Bass, MD, MPH, FACP
Chief Executive Officer
Alexandria, VA
Phone: (800) 822-3060