Print Email


SGIM Regional Communities

Regional involvement provides members with SGIM benefits at the local level, including opportunities to network; learn; showcase and share research, teaching methods, and aspects of patient care; and develop leadership skills. The regions each have their own unique composition and character, which is reflected in the ways they meet their members’    needs.  

Universal Regional Bylaws

In an effort to clarify and streamline seven sets of differing bylaws the Workgroup on Regions composed and proposed a universal set of bylaws to replace existing individual regional bylaws in September 2016.  Over the course of the next eight months each region voted to adopt these universal bylaws either at thier regional meetings or electronically as specified in their existing bylaws.  In April 2017, all regions adopted these bylaws. The Regional Bylaws were updated and approved August 2021.  

Universal Regional Bylaws  


The California-Hawaii region is comprised of California and Hawaii.


New England

Comprised of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont



The Mid-Atlantic region Is comprised of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, and Washington, DC


The Northwest region is comprised of Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington


Comprised of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Wisconsin


Comprised of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Mountain West

The Mountain West region is comprised of Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming