Who Should Be Nominated
The Scholarship in Medical Education Award highlights the diverse and original contributions of SGIM members in enhancing medical education nationally. Categories of scholarship include scholarship of integration (e.g., synthesis and analysis of a body of knowledge), scholarship in educational methods and teaching (e.g., descriptions of new educational programs, educational methods, patient education programs), and scholarship in career development of clinician educators.

This award intends to recognize and promote a broad spectrum of scholarship in medical education. Scholarship has historically been judged by the publication of original research; for this award, additional evidence of scholarship might include books, chapters, review articles, grant funding in education, teaching videos, computer or internet-based materials, popular writing, or oral presentations.

Current Winner

Jennifer Corbelli, MD

Headshot photo of Jennifer Corbelli

Past Winners

2023 Somnath Mookherjee
2022 Wei Wei Lee
2021 Adam Sawatsky
2020 Kathleen Hanley
2019 Subha Ramani
2018 Colleen C. Gillespie
2017 Abby L. Spencer
2016 Jed D. Gonzalo
2015 Carla Spagnoletti
2014 Jeannette Guerrasio
2013 Reena Karani
2012 Lisa Willett
2011 Preetha Basaviah
2010 Jeanne M. Farnan
2009 Kathlyn E. Fletcher
2008 Adina Kalet
2008 Darcy A. Reed
2008 Joseph A. Carrese
2007 Diane Wayne
2007 Paul M. Haidet
2007 Barry Issenberg
2006 Scott D. Stern
2006 Sondra Zabar
2006 Charles C. Smith
2005 Auguste H. Fortin
2005 John A. Flynn
2005 Stephen D. Sisson
2004 Janet B. Henrich
2004 Gerald Smetana
2004 Gary Ferenchick
2003 Steven R. Simon
2002 Nancy Rigotti
2002 Eric S. Holmboe
2002 Wit Educational Initiative
2001 Eric Green
2001 Deborah Kwolek
2001 Deborah Burnet
2000 Chad D. Kollas
2000 Robert Golub
2000 Raymond O. Powrie
1999 Linda Pinsky
1999 Scott Wright
1998 Paul L. Fine
1998 Mitchell Feldman
1998 Halina Brukner