Who Should Be Nominated
SGIM full or associate members eligible for nomination include those in a research training program (fellowship) or those who have completed their training (clinical or research) less than two years prior to the application date. Candidates for this award should demonstrate the following: significant research with potential for a substantial contribution to general internal medicine; scholarly merit; creativity and innovation; feasibility of the research; prospects for future extramural funding; availability of alternative funding sources; focus on career development in the early stages of their career; and evidence that junior applicants will work as independent investigators.

The Founders Grant is dedicated to supporting research conducted by junior investigators. Applicants are encouraged to utilize the SGIM Research Dataset Compendium for their proposed projects. This resource offers access to numerous public-use datasets and allows investigators to receive mentoring and one-time consultations from senior SGIM members experienced in using these datasets. A maximum of $10,000 will be funded.

Current Winner

Amy Yu, MD

Headshot photo of Amy Yu

Past Winners

2023 Elizabeth Boggs
2022 Aksharananda Rambachan
2021 Karla Kendrick
2020 David Burstein
2019 Ashley Jenkins
2018 Madeline Sterling
2017 Melissa Y. Wei
2016 Reem Hasan
2015  Kevin Riggs
2014  Elizabeth Dzeng
2013 Melissa B. Weimer
2012 Tanner J. Caverly
2009 Madhav Goyal
2008 Elie A. Akl
2007 Heidi L. Wald