Who Should Be Nominated
This Award symbolizes the highest level of service to the Society. It is given to an individual for outstanding service to SGIM and its mission of promoting patient care, research, education, and community service in primary care internal medicine.

The Elnora M. Rhodes SGIM Service Award was established in 1997 to honor Ms. Rhodes’ tremendous contributions to the Society of General Internal Medicine during her ten years as Executive Director. This award has been supported through donations from SGIM leaders and members, past and present, and generous gifts from the Rhodes family.

Current Winner

John Goodson, MD

Headshot photo of John Goodson

Past Winners

2020 Amy Gottlieb
2018 Marilyn Schapira
2017 Mitchell Feldman & Richard Kravitz
2016 Martha Gerrity
2015 Susana Morales
2014 Thomas Inui
2013 Carol Bates
2012 Valerie Stone
2011 Ellen F. Yee
2010 Laura Sessums
2009 James Byrd
2008 Jeffrey Jackson
2007 Eric Bass
2006 Stephan Fihn
2005 Robert Wigton
2004 David Calkins
2003 Jack Peirce
2002 Carole Warde
2001 Mark Linzer
2000 Shirley Meehan
1999 Oliver T. Fein
1998 Annie Lea Shuster
1997 Elnora Rhodes