Who Should Be Nominated
The Calkins Award recognizes an SGIM individual who has devoted many years of continued commitment to health policy advocacy or has had a good year, achieving a major triumph regarding an SGIM advocacy issue. A government employee would be eligible if they have demonstrated commitment to policy issues important to SGIM members.

This award recognizes the extraordinary commitment that many members make when they choose to advocate on behalf of SGIM. It is named for the late David R. Calkins, MD, because of his tireless advocacy on behalf of SGIM on health policy issues since its inception as SREPCIM in 1978.

Next Application Opens Fall 2024

Current Winner

Lilia Cervantes, MD

Headshot Photo of Lilia Cervantes

Past Winners

2023 Lilia Cervantes
2021 Stefan Kertesz
2019 Andrew Bindman
2018 Jeffrey R. Jaeger
2017 Mark D. Schwartz
2015 Carolyn Clancy
2014 Laura Sessums
2013 Oliver Fein
2012 Nicole Lurie
2011 Preston Reynolds
2010 Harry Selker
2009 Mark Liebow
2008 John Goodson