Who Should Be Nominated
Eligible nominees for the Best Published Research Paper of the Year Award are authors or first authors who are current SGIM members with papers published in the preceding calendar year. Nominations are encouraged from all, including self-nomination by the author(s). Selection of the best paper will be based on the contribution the paper has made to generalist research.

Inaugurated in 2000, the purpose of this award is to recognize members for papers that have significantly contributed to generalist research.

Current Winner

Ilana Richman, MD

Headshot photo of Ilana Richman

Past Winners

2023 Paula Chatterjee
2022 Carlos Irwin A. Oronce
2021 Safiya Richardson
2020 John Mafi
2019 Atheendar Venkataramani
2018 Michael L. Barnett
2017 Victoria L. Tang
2016 Rebecca T. Brown
2015 Richard Saitz
2014 Gail L. Daumit
2013 Alexander Smith
2012 Lawrence J. Appel
2011 Amal N. Trivedi
2010 Kevin Volpp
2009 Elbert S. Huang
2008 J. Michael McWilliams
2007 Rachel M. Werner
2006 Richard L. Kravitz
2005 Bruce E. Landon
2004 Thomas H. Gallagher
2003 Thomas M. Gill
2002 Brian F. Gage
2001 Wendy Levinson
2000 John Ayanian