Print Email

Distinguished Professors of Women and Medicine

Each year during the SGIM annual meetings, the WAMC has sponsored the Distinguished Professor of Women and Medicine (formerly Distinguished Professor in Women’s Health).  Presenters have spanned the breadth of women’s health with presentations promoting women’s health research, the practice of women’s health, women’s health education, advocacy, policy, and the careers of women in medicine.

2019 Distinguished Professor of Women and Medicine 

Kirsten Bibbins-Domingto, PhD, MD, MAS 

Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, PhD, MD, MAS is the Lee Goldman, MD Endowed Chair in Medicine, Professor and Chair of the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, and Professor of Medicine. She is the inaugural Vice Dean for Population Health and Health Equity in the UCSF School of Medicine. Dr. Bibbins-Domingo co-founded the UCSF Center for Vulnerable Populations at Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital, a research center focused on discovery, implementation, policy, advocacy, and community engagement for communities at risk for poor health and inadequate healthcare. She is one of the PIs of the UCSF Clinical and Translational Science Institute.

A general internist at Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital, Dr. Bibbins-Domingo has expertise in cardiovascular disease, hypertension, diabetes, and chronic kidney disease with a particular interest in the development of these conditions in young adults. She is an NIH-funded researcher who uses observational studies, pragmatic trials, and simulation modeling to examine effective clinical, public health, and policy interventions aimed at prevention. She leads the UCSF Cardiovascular Disease Policy Model group that conducts simulation modeling, disease projections, and cost-effectiveness analyses related to cardiovascular disease in the US and in other national contexts.

Dr. Bibbins-Domingo was a member of the US Preventive Services Task Force from 2010-2017 and led the Task Force as the vice-chair and chair from 2014-2017. She is an inducted member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation, the Association of American Physicians, and the National Academy of Medicine.

Dr. Bibbins-Domingo is a trustee of Princeton University and a director on the board of the San Francisco General Hospital Foundation.

Past Distinguished Professors of Women and Medicine 

2018 Suzanne Fletcher, MD, MSc
2017 - Laurie C. Zephyrin, MD., MPH, MBA                                                                                                                              2016 - Karen B. DeSalvo, MD, MPH, MSc                                                                                                                                    2015 - Katrina Armstrong, MD, MSCE                                                                                                                                           2014 - Melissa McNeil, MD, MPH                                                                                                                                                   2013 - Karen Freund, MD, MPH                                                                                                                                                     2012 - Carol S. Weisman, PhD                                                                                                                                                       2011 -  Ann Nattinger, MD                                                                                                                                                               2010 - Carolyn Clancy, MD                                                                                                                                                             2009 - Wendy Levinson, MD                                                                                                                                                         2008 - Roberta Ness, MD, MPH                                                                                                                                                     2007 - Deborah Grady, MD, MPH