Print Email

The Elnora M. Rhodes SGIM Service Award

Next Application Opens Fall 2023

Who Should Be Nominated?

The Elnora M. Rhodes SGIM Service Award was established in 1997 to honor Ms. Rhodes’ tremendous contributions to the Society of General Internal Medicine during her ten years as Executive Director. The Award symbolizes the highest level of service to the Society and is given to an individual for outstanding service to SGIM and its mission of promoting patient care, research, education and community service in primary care internal medicine.

This award has been supported through contributions from SGIM leaders and members, past and present, as well as generous gifts from the Rhodes family.

What Do I Need to Nominate?

  • Nominee must be SGIM member. 
  • A formal nomination letter, two single-spaced pages or less, stating why this person should receive the Elnora M. Rhodes SGIM Service Award.
  • A current copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae.

Thank you for helping identify appropriate candidates for the Society's highest service award!

Past Recipients

 2020 Amy Gottlieb
 2018 Marilyn Schapira
 2017 Mitchell Feldman
  Richard Kravitz
2016 Martha Gerrity
2015  Susana Morales
2014  Thomas Inui
2013  Carol Bates
2012      Valerie Stone 
2011  Ellen F. Yee 
2010  Laura Sessums 
2009  James Byrd 
2008  Jeffrey Jackson 
2007  Eric Bass 
2006  Stephan Fihn 
2005  Robert Wigton 
2004  David Calkins 
2003  Jack Peirce 
2002  Carole Warde 
2001  Mark Linzer 
2000  Shirley Meehan  
1999  Oliver T. Fein 
1998  Annie Lea Shuster  
1997 Elnora Rhodes