Print Email

Excellence in Medical Ethics Award

This award recognizes the original scholarship that SGIM members have done to advance medical ethics. It promotes and rewards outstanding contributions to the field of medical ethics, including not only traditional scholarship such as publication of research but also viewpoint articles, educational materials, popular writing, oral presentations, and efforts to influence health policy. Leadership roles in medical education or within health care institutions and excellence in mentorship will also be considered. This award encourages members of SGIM to incorporate ethics scholarship and leadership into their own work by highlighting outstanding individuals who have achieved success in these areas.

Who Should be Nominated?

  • Associate or full members of SGIM may be nominated
  • Members at all academic ranks are eligible

The ideal nominee for the award is an academic general internist who has made outstanding contributions to medical ethics at a local, regional, or national level. Nominees will be evaluated based on the quality, originality, breadth, and impact of their work in the field of medical ethics.

What Do I Need to Nominate?

  • A one or two page letter of recommendation from a colleague (this can include a mentor), which includes a description of the nominee’s role and contributions to the field of medical ethics
  • One or two examples of the nominee’s work (e.g. presentation materials, course syllabus, manuscript, book chapter, video presentation, summary of evaluations from trainees and students)
  • A copy of the nominee’s curriculum vitae

2022 Excellence in Medical Ethics Award Winner
Mark Siegler, MD

Ready to Nominate 
Click Here

Important Dates 

October 7, 2022

Award nominations open

January 13, 2023

Award nominations close

March 14, 2023

All award recipients are notified  

May 10-13, 2023

Award presentations and acknowledgements at the 2023 SGIM Annual Meeting

Past Recipients

2022 Mark Siegler