Print Email

Career Achievements in Medical Education

The Career Achievements in Medical Education Award provides recognition to an outstanding clinician-educator whose lifetime contributions have profoundly advanced, and had widespread impact on the art and science of medicine and medical education.

Who Should be Nominated?

  • This award is intended to be for an individual whose career is well advanced and who has been involved in medical education for many years.
  • The individual will have made major contributions to, or in support of the field of medical education.

What Do I Need to Nominate?

  • Nominee must be an SGIM member. 
  • One letter of recommendation from a colleague of the nominee, describing the nominee's major contribution to the field of medical education in 1000 words or less. 
  • Current copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae.  

Thank you for helping identify appropriate candidates for the Society's highest medical education award!

2022 Career Achievements in Medical Education National Award Winner
Sondra Zabar, MD

Important Dates 

October 7, 2022

Award nominations open

January 13, 2023

Award nominations close

March 14, 2023

All award recipients are notified  

May 10-13, 2023

Award presentations and acknowledgements at the 2023 SGIM Annual Meeting

Past Recipients

2022 Sondra Zabar
2021 Diane B. Wayne
2020 Paul Haidet
2019 Adina Kalet
2018 Patricia S. O'Sullivan
2017 Daniel Wolpaw
2016 Melissa A. McNeil
2015  Thomas Beckman 
2014  Jeffrey Jackson 
2013  Patricia Thomas 
2012    Dennis Novack
2011 Judy A. Shea
2010 Molly Cooke 
2009 David Michael Elnicki 
2008 Eric Holmboe 
2007 Mark D. Aronson 
2006 Stephen J. McPhee 
2005 Dennis W. Cope 
2004 James Wolliscroft 
2003 David E. Kern 
2002 Robert C. Smith 
2001 Lee Randol Barker 
2000 Allan Gorroll 
1999 Jack Ende 
1998 Gordon Noel 
1997 William Branch 
1996 Kelly Skeff