Print Email

2023 Midwest Leadership Awards

Award for Excellence in Clinician Investigation
Kathryn Martinez, PhD, MPH
Cleveland Clinic

Award for Excellence in Clinician Education
Rasika Karnik, MD
University of Chicago

Award for Advocacy and Community Service
Curtis Wright, MD, MBA
Indiana University School of Medicine

2023 Bite-Size Teaching Award Winner

Jennifer Woodard, MD
Medical College of Wisconsin
Bringing the 5Ms to IM

2022 Midwest Poster Award Winners

Clinical Vignettes 

1st Place
The Likely Zebra and the Unlikely Horse: A Case of Painless Jaundice in a Chron's Disease Patient
Juliana Mary Mitchell, BS; Rush University Medical Center

2nd Place
Getting Lup-y: A Case of Severe Acute Pancreatitis Related to Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Cameron B. Speyer, BA, MS; University of Michigan Medical School

3rd Place
A Case of Complicated Precipitated Opioid Withdrawal in the Era of High-Potency Synthetic Opioids
Samuel Trump, MD; University of Chicago

Scientific Abstracts

1st Place
Perspectives on a COPD Virtual Medication Reconciliation and Education Program: COPD-V-M(ED) Program
Karen John, BS; Northwestern University Department of Medicine

2nd Place
Paying it Forward: Assessing the Impact of Nominating Deserving Women for Awards on Confidence Level and Future Behavior of Nominees
Megan Huisingh-Scheetz, MD. MPH; University of Chicago

3rd Place
Evaluation of the Implementation of a Real-World Primary Care-Collaborative Care Model for Adults with Cognitive Impairment and Neuropsychiatric Symptoms
Daniel Y. Johnson, BA; University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine


1st Place 
Supportive Care: Building Provider Confidence in Delivering Effective, Culturally Appropriate Goals of Care Conversations for Underserved Patients
Carolyn Read, MS; Oak Street Health

2nd Place TIE
Using a Human-Centered Design Process to Optimized User Experience of the InPACT at Home Website to Promote Youth Physical Activity
Dhiraj Tadikamalla, MD; Wayne State University School of Medicine

Exploring Characteristics of Patients Using Telehealth vs In-Person Visits in General Internal Medicine Clinic
Gabrielle Spring; MD; University of Kansas School of Medicine