Who Should Be Nominated
Outpatient or Inpatient Teams (must include one SGIM or ACLGIM member). This can consist of group practices, hospital departments, units, divisions, medical schools, and health centers, which are principally primary care or general medicine, and who have one or more SGIM members in practice management leadership roles are eligible to apply. Resident teaching in the practice is not required, but evidence of ongoing professional and organizational learning is essential.

The award aims to promote innovation and quality improvement in general medical and primary care practice design and management through recognition of role model practices. This award will recognize leaders of practice innovations, outpatient (primary care) or inpatient settings, who have improved care within the “quality” domains of safety, effectiveness, patient-centeredness, timeliness, efficiency, and equality. This award will also recognize teams (composed of general internists and members of their organization) that have successfully developed and implemented innovative systems of practice improvement in ambulatory or inpatient clinical practice.

Current Winner

Christopher Steele, MD - University of Connecticut School of Medicine - UConn Health Leaders

Group photo of QPI award winners 2024

Past Winners

2023 Elmhurst Ambulatory Care Services Primary Care, part of the New York City Health and Hospital System
2022 Allegheny General Hospital System
2021 University of Pennsylvania Health System- Penn Center for Connected Care
2020 University of Pennsylvania Health System- Penn Nudge Unit
2019 Mount Sinai High-Value Care Team, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
2018 UPMC Health Plan and the University of Pittsburgh Physicians- Division of GIM (UPP-GIM) / Enhanced Care Program (ECP)
2017 Boston Medical Center, GIM / Clinical Addiction Research (CARE) Unit
2016 University of Pittsburgh Physicians, General Internal Medicine
2015  The Massachusetts General Physicians Organization
2014 Brigham and Women’s Advance Primary Care Associates
2013  St Joseph’s Hospital & Medical Center in Phoenix, AZ
2012 Wake Forest School of Medicine
2011 Northwestern Medical Faculty Foundation’s Division of GIM
2010 University of Cincinnati Academic Health Center
2009 University of Chicago Primary Care Group
2008 Mount Sinai Visiting Doctors Program