Who Should Be Nominated

The Herbert W. Nickens Award recognizes exceptional commitment to cultural diversity in medicine. The award will honor an SGIM member who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to cultural diversity in medicine or improving minority health.


The award is named in memory and honor of the late Dr. Herbert W. Nickens, former Director of the Office of Minority Health, Department of Health and Human Services, and the first Vice President and Director of the American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC) Division of Community and Minority Programs. During his tenure at the AAMC, Dr. Nickens established groundbreaking programs designed to address the critical need for minority physicians and improvements in minority health status, including Project 3000 by 2000, launched in 1991 to dramatically increase the number of underrepresented minority students enrolling in U.S. medical schools, and the Minority Medical Education Project, created in partnership with the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, to “jump-start” the medical education of promising minority college students through no-cost summer enrichment programs at eight leading medical schools. Dr. Nickens also substantially expanded several previously existing initiatives to increase the number and success of minority medical faculty. Numerous SGIM members have participated in and benefited from these programs.

This award is supported by contributions from the Hess Foundation.

Current Winner

Ade Olomu, MD

Headshot Photo of Ade Olomu

Past Winners

2023 Ade Olomu
2022 Ricardo Correa
2021 Inginia Genao
2020 Reagan Durant
2019 Alicia Fernandez
2018 Arleen F. Brown
2017 Marcella Nunez-Smith
2016 Giselle Corbie-Smith
2015 Donna Washington
2014 Monica Vela
2013 Gbenga Ogedegbe
2012 Olveen Carrasquillo
2011 Somnath Saha
2010 Said Ibrahim
2009 Jasjit Ahluwalia
2008 Eliseo Perez-Stable
2007 Martin F. Shapiro
2006 Lisa A. Cooper
2005 Joan Y. Reede
2004 Gerald Thomson
2003 Stephen Huot
2002 David Satcher
2001 James R. Gavin
2000 Jordan J. Cohen

Nominations Open

October 6, 2023

Submission Deadline

January 12, 2023