Who Should Be Nominated
Eligible nominees are junior faculty who are current SGIM members with a preference for Assistant Professors or Associate Professors within their first three years of appointment. Candidates should be distinguished by their ability to inspire trainees towards careers in academic GIM and leadership in healthcare innovation.

In memory of Dr. Fred Brancati’s influential role in guiding trainees in academic general internal medicine, SGIM and ACLGIM have established this award to honor junior faculty who embody his spirit of mentorship and leadership. This award celebrates those who motivate trainees to contribute to healthcare transformation through research, education, and practice. The award includes a $1,000 prize, a one-year SGIM membership for trainees, and $1,000 travel support for trainees to attend leadership training, with annual reassessment of the award amounts.

Current Winner

Timothy Anderson, MD, MAS, MA

Headshot photo of Timothy Anderson

Past Winners

2023 Christopher Jackson
2022 Rani Nandiwada
2021 Valerie Press
2020 Paul O’Rourke
2019 Alexander Walley
2018 Robin E. Canada
2017 Margaret C. Lo
2016 Abby L. Spencer
2014 Donna Windish