Print Email

Distinguished Professor of Hospital Medicine

Each year since 2016, SGIM has sponsored a Distinguished Professor of Hospital Medicine Program (DPHM) at its annual meeting. Invited professors are nationally recognized in the field of Hospital Medicine; past Distinguished Professors have shared their expertise in medical education, health services research, and hospital medicine outcomes research with members of SGIM at the National Meeting through a plenary address and a moderated oral abstract session.  The intent of the DPHM program is to facilitates career development of SGIM members in the fields of hospital and general internal medicine in terms of education, research, and clinical practice. 

2019 Distinguished Professor of Hospital Medicine 

Bradley A. Sharpe, MD

Brad Sharpe grew up in Iowa and received his bachelor degree in chemistry from Stanford University and his medical degree from Harvard Medical School. He completed his residency and chief residency in Internal Medicine at UCSF. He currently is a Professor of Clinical Medicine and hospitalist and maintains clinical, administrative, research, and educational endeavors.   He is currently the Division Chief for the Division of Hospital Medicine at Parnassues.  For many years he served as the Associate Program Director for Inpatient Affairs for the UCSF Internal Medicine Residency.  Brad’s research focuses on oral case presentations, faculty development, and improving the field of hospital medicine.

Brad teaches to medical students, residents, and faculty at UCSF on topics ranging from community-acquired pneumonia to updates in the literature.  Brad also graduated from the Stanford Faculty Development Clinical Teaching course and now teaches the class to UCSF faculty and Internal Medicine residents.  He has given numerous presentations on improving clinical teaching both regionally and nationally and focuses much of his time on faculty (and housestaff) development.  He has been the recipient of multiple teaching awards including the UCSF Distinction in Teaching Award (given to the most outstanding teacher at UCSF in the first 5 years on faculty) and the Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM) National Excellence in Teaching Award.  He has served on multiple committees for the Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM), including the Academic Committee, and is now on the Board of Directors for SHM. He is the former co-chair of the Society of General Internal Medicine (SGIM) Academic Hospitalist Taskforce. He is also a co-director of the Academic Hospitalist Academy, an annual 4-day “boot camp” for junior academic hospitalists.

Distinguish Professor of Hospital Medicine Awards

Past Distinguished Professors of Hospital Medicine

2018 - William Southern
2017 - Luci K. Leykum, M.D., M.B.A., M.S.c.
2016 - Dan P. Hunt, M.D.