Print Email

Lawrence S. Linn Research Grant

The Linn Grant will now be funded for $20,000

The Lawrence S. Linn trust grants awards to young investigators "to study or improve the quality of life for persons with AIDS or HIV infection." The maximum amount that will be funded is $20,000. The award, endowed by the Lawrence Linn Trust, will be recognized at SGIMs Annual Meeting. 

General Criteria

Applicants may include SGIM members (associates or full), students, degree candidates, fellows, or faculty members early in their research careers.

The Lawrence Linn Fund is open to considering a wide range of research projects whose results are likely to improve the lives and/or health care of persons living with HIV/AIDS.

Appropriate research projects would include:

  • Studies of HIV/AIDS quality of care
  • Access to HIV/AIDS health care services
  • Studies of measures and determinants of quality of life
  • Patients’ perspectives about their care and/or life experiences
  • Cost-effectiveness of various HIV treatments and other interventions
  • Studies of adherence to antiretrovirals and evaluations of interventions to improve adherence
  • A wide range of studies of the clinical epidemiology of HIV/AIDS that might focus on issues such as disease severity measures, survival, or prognostic measures

Required Documents Needed

  • Current copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae
  • Title Page
  • Research Proposal
  • Budget and Justification
  • Other Supporting Documents

Evaluation Criteria

  • Originality
  • Significance, (the likelihood of improving the lives and/or health care of those living with HIV/AIDS)
  • Methodological rigor
  • Likelihood of being completed 

If Awarded

  • Grantees are required to submit annual and final narrative and financial reports.
  • At the end of the grant, the grantee should provide a brief written report on the project.

2023 Lawrence S. Linn Research Grant Winner
Kira Nightingale, BS, MBA, MS

Ready to Apply?
Click Here

Important Dates 

October 6, 2023

Award nominations open

January 12, 2024

Award nominations close

March 13, 2024

All award recipients are notified  

May 15-18, 2024

Award presentations and acknowledgements at the 2024 SGIM Annual Meeting in Boston, MA

Submission Documents

Linn Title Page

Linn Application

Past Recipient

2023 Kira Nightingale
2022 Chanelle Diaz
2021 Benjamin T. Hayes
2019 Aroonsiri Sangarlangkarn
2018 Jules Chyten-Brennan
2017 Dana D. Hines
2016 Jonathan Ross
2015  Michael Reid 
2014 Aaron Fox
2013 Joanna Starrels
2012 Oni Blackstock 
2011 Anne Monroe
2010 Jennifer Edelman
2008 Philip Korthuis
2007 Monique Tello
2006 Carla Zelaya
2005 Gail Berkenblit 
2004 Ahmed Bayoumi
2003 Heidi Crain 
2002 Shawn Fultz
  Gwen Davies
2001 Carol Golin
2000 Rebecca Ballard
  Chinazo Cunningham
1999  Gary Sinclair
  Molly Stenzel