Print Email

Practice Innovation Award

The award will recognize leaders of practice innovations who have improved care within the “quality” domains of the 2000 IOM Crossing the Quality Chasm report: safety, effectiveness, patient-centeredness, timeliness, efficiency and equality, or the Patient Centered Medical Home goals of accessible, coordinated, patient centered, team based, and comprehensive care.

The award will recognize general internists and their organization (see below) that have successfully developed and implemented innovative systems of practice improvement in ambulatory and/or inpatient clinical practice. 

Who Should be Nominated?

  1. SGIM or ACLGIM member. 
  2. Group practices
  3. Hospital departments, units, or divisions
  4. Medical schools
  5. Health centers which are principally primary care or general medical, AND who have one or more SGIM members in practice management leadership roles, are eligible to apply.

Resident teaching in the practice is not required but evidence of ongoing professional and organizational learning is important.

SGIM members involved in the judging of this award or other SGIM innovation, quality or safety awards are not eligible during the award year.

What Do I Need to Nominate?

The goal of the award is to promote innovation and quality improvement in general medical and primary care practice design and management through recognition of role model practices.  

The following documents are needed:

  1. Practice Background
  2. Management Systems
  3. Organizational Performance
  4. Current Teaching Activities
  5. Other Supporting Documents

Applicants will be judged upon how they have

  1. Implemented practice redesign to improve key performance issues in their organization and how the concepts of innovative management have been taught to residents, students or colleagues.
  2. Applied practice innovation to measurably and sustainably improves care in one or more domains of importance to their organization.

Judging and Selection Committee

Judging will assess each application's use of innovation, systematic deployment, and performance measurement in pursuit of their organizational goals, and how this will allow them to serve as a role model for other organizations. The SGIM Clinical Practice Innovation and Quality Award will be judged by a committee appointed by the SGIM Council under the direction of the Chair of the Clinical Practice Committee.

The Award

The recipient(s) will be recognized with a plaque at the national meeting. SGIM welcomes recipient(s) to submit a workshop for presentation at the next year’s SGIM national meeting and encourages recipients to submit a suitable manuscript for publication in JGIM or the Forum; though as with other manuscript submissions, we cannot guarantee acceptance for presentation or publication. Recipient(s) will be expected to welcome site visits from other SGIM members in order to further demonstrate and promote generalizability of their successes. Further, the recipients agree to allow distribution of their proposal on the SGIM Improving Care website for national dissemination.

Annual Meeting registration fees will be waived for up to two attendees.

2022 Quality and Practice Innovation Award Winner
Elizabeth Cuevas, MD
(Allegheny General Hospital System)

Important Dates 

October 7, 2022

Award nominations open

January 13, 2023

Award nominations close

March 14, 2023

All award recipients are notified  

May 10-13, 2023

Award presentations and acknowledgements at the 2023 SGIM Annual Meeting

Past Recipients

Allegheny General Hospital System


University of Pennsylvania Health System- Penn Center for Connected Care


University of Pennsylvania Health System- Penn Nudge Unit


Mount Sinai High Value Care Team
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai


UPMC Health Plan and the University of Pittsburgh Physicians- Division of GIM (UPP-GIM) / Enhanced Care Program (ECP)


Boston Medical Center - GIM / Clinical Addiction Research (CARE) Unit

University of Pittsburgh Physicians - General Internal Medicine  2016
The Massachusetts General Physicians Organization  2015 
Brigham and Women's Advance Primary Care Associates


St Joseph's Hospital &
Medical Center-Phoenix, AZ


Wake Forest School of Medicine 2012
Northwestern Medical Faculty Foundation's Division of GIM 2011
University of Cinnicinnati Academic Health Center 2010
University of Chicago Primary Care Group 2009
Mount Sinai Visiting Doctors Program 2008