Print Email

The Herbert W. Nickens Minority Health and Representation in Medicine Award


Who Should be Nominated?

The Herbert W. Nickens Award recognizes exceptional commitment to cultural diversity in medicine. The award will honor an individual or representative of an organization who has demonstrated exceptional commitment to cultural diversity in medicine or to improving minority health.

What do I Need to Nominate?

  • Nomination of an SGIM or ACLGIM member
  • A current copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae 
  • A formal nomination letter, two single-spaced pages or less, enlarging upon the CV, and emphasizing the nominee's qualifications for the award


The award is named in memory and honor of the late Dr. Herbert W. Nickens, former Director of the Office of Minority Health, Department of Health and Human Services and the first Vice President and Director of the American Association of Medical Colleges’ (AAMC) Division of Community and Minority Programs.

During his tenure at the AAMC, Dr. Nickens established groundbreaking programs designed to address the critical need for minority physicians and improvements in minority health status, including Project 3000 by 2000, launched in 1991 to dramatically increase the number of underrepresented minority students enrolling in U.S. medical schools, and the Minority Medical Education Project, created in partnership with the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, to "jump start" the medical education of promising minority college students through no-cost summer enrichment programs at eight leading medical schools.

Dr. Nickens also substantially expanded several previously existing initiatives to increase the number and success of minority medical faculty. Numerous SGIM members have participated in and benefited from these programs, two of which include the Annual Minority Faculty Career Development Program and the Health Services Research Institute for Minority Medical Faculty.

This award is supported by contributions from the Hess Foundation.

 2022 Herbert Nickens Award Winner
Ricardo Correa, MD, FACP

Important Dates 

October 7, 2022

Award nominations open

January 13, 2023

Award nominations close

March 14, 2023

All award recipients are notified  

May 10-13, 2023

Award presentations and acknowledgements at the 2023 SGIM Annual Meeting

Past Recipients


Ricardo Correa


Inginia Genao


Reagan Durant


Alicia Fernandez


Arleen F. Brown
2017 Marcella Nunez-Smith
2016  Giselle Corbie-Smith
2015  Donna Washington 
2014  Monica Vela 
2013  Gbenga Ogedegbe
   2012 Olveen Carrasquillo 
2011  Somnath Saha
2010  Said Ibrahim 
2009  Jasjit Ahluwalia
2008 Eliseo Perez-Stable 
2007  Martin F. Shapiro
2006  Lisa A. Cooper 
2005  Joan Y. Reede 
2004  Gerald Thomson
2003  Stephen Huot 
2002  David Satcher
2001  James R. Gavin 
2000  Jordan J. Cohen