Print Email

Outstanding Junior Investigator of the Year

Inaugurated in 2001, this award provides national recognition to SGIM junior investigator members whose academic ranks do not exceed Assistant Professor, and whose early career achievements and overall bodies of work to date have had national impact on generalist research.

Who Should be Nominated?

Nominees must be active members of the Society of General Internal Medicine, and expect to have an academic rank no higher than Assistant Professor as of July 1, in the year prior to the award year. The general criterion for the award is outstanding accomplishment in research.

Nominees should provide evidence of sustained, consistent accomplishment.
Specific criteria will be:

  • Overall quality of the applicant's publications
  • Impact of the applicant's work on generalist research, practice, and policy
  • Consistent quality of publications
  • Increasing momentum of career accomplishment
  • Active involvement in SGIM
  • Creativity and innovation
  • 7 years from appointment in their faculty position

In the context of this award, SGIM defines generalist research broadly to encompass the full range of scholarship conducted by SGIM investigators.

What do I Need to Nominate?

Candidates may nominate themselves or be nominated by someone else.

  • Nominee must be a SGIM member. 
  • A formal nomination letter of one single-spaced page or less, stating reasons the nominee should receive the Junior Investigator award.
  • A current copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae.

The selection committee may request a small number of finalists to submit additional materials, including supporting letters and reprints of articles.

2023 Outstanding Junior Investigator of the Year Award Winner,
      Renuka Tipirneni, MD, MSc          


Ready to Nominate?
Click Here

Important Dates 

October 6, 2023

Award nominations open

January 12, 2024

Award nominations close

March 13, 2024

All award recipients are notified  

May 15-18, 2024

Award presentations and acknowledgements at the 2024 SGIM Annual Meeting in Boston, MA

Past Recipients 

2023 Renuka Tipirneni
2022 Michael L. Barnett
2021 Seth Berkowitz
2020 Zirui Song
2019 Shreya Kangovi
2018 Mitesh S. Patel
2017 Yael Schenker
2016 Ryan Greysen
2015  Benjamin Sommers
2014  J. Michael McWilliams 
2013  Monica Peek
2012   Rebecca Sudore
2011  Joseph Ross
2010  Allison Rosen
Rachel Werner
2009  Ashish Jha 
2008  Virginia Chang 
2007  Louise Walter 
2006  Kevin Volpp 
2005 Nancy Keating 
2004  Bruce Landon
2003  Katrina Armstrong 
2002  Brian Gage 
2001 Mary McGrae McDermott
Laura Petersen