Print Email


Nominate someone you think deserves recognition by the GIM community for SGIM’s highest award!

The Robert J. Glaser Award Recognizes outstanding contributions to research, education, leadership and mentoring in generalism in medicine and is presented at the SGIM Annual Meeting as a feature of a plenary session. This award is supported by grants from the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, the Commonwealth Fund, and many individual contributions.

Who Should be Nominated?

Nominee must be a SGIM member. 

An outstanding record as an investigator, educator, or both in generalism in medicine, as described below:

Research: The nominee will have demonstrated a depth of research in topics of relevance to the practice of generalism in medicine, including, but not limited to:

  • Health services research, clinical epidemiology, and the social sciences as they relate to clinical medicine;
  • Descriptive and analytic clinical research. General internal medicine need not be the primary discipline;
  • A focus on the whole patient, groups of patients, or the process and outcomes of medical care; and the findings of the research will have significantly enhanced the field;
  • Recipients will generally have been researchers for at least 10-15 years, with consistent contributions over this time period.

Education: The nominee will have a long record of major contributions to education in the field of generalism in medicine.  These activities include, but are not limited to:

  • The promotion of ambulatory care and other general internal medicine activities as primary foci for education of students, fellows and residents;
    The formulation of educational policy on the broadest level in the field of general internal medicine;
  • The establishment of innovative educational programs that have served as models elsewhere;
  • Contributions to the literature either through writings on the subject of education or in the form of textbooks relevant to the field of general internal medicine; and
  • The training of future leaders in the field.

Leadership and General Personality to include, but are not limited to:

  • Humanism
  • Altruism

Mentorship to include, but not limited to:

  • Generative mentorship
  • Mentorship across varied disciplines

The nominee will also demonstrate ongoing and consistent SGIM contributions.

What Do I Need to Nominate?

  • A formal nomination letter, two single-spaced pages or less, stating why this person should receive the Glaser award.
  • A current copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae.

2023 Robert J. Glaser Award Winner
Neil Powe, MD, MPH, MBA

Ready to Nominate?
Click Here

Important Dates 

October 6, 2023

Award nominations open

January 12, 2024

Award nominations close

March 13, 2024

All award recipients are notified  

May 15-18, 2024

Award presentations and acknowledgements at the 2024 SGIM Annual Meeting in Boston, MA

Past Recipients

Neil Powe 2023
Karen Freund 2022
Michael Barry 2021
Mark Linzer 2020
Patrick O'Connor 2019
Kurt Kroenke 2018
Robert Centor 2017
Ann B. Nattinger 2016
Nicole Lurie 2015
Martin Shapiro 2014 
David Bates 2013
Stephan Fihn  2012 
C. Seth Landefeld  2011 
William Tierney  2010 
Wendy Levinson  2009 
Sankey V. Williams  2008 
Mack Lipkin  2007 
Wishwa Kapoor  2006 
Ralph Horowitz  2005 
Eric Larson 2004 
Thomas Delbanco  2003 
Lee Goldman  2002 
Robert Fletcher  2001 
Harold Sox  2000 
John Noble  1999 
Suzanne Fletcher  1998 
Sheldon Greenfield  1997 
Steven Schroeder  1996 
John Eisenberg  1995 
Robert Brook  1994 
Thomas Inui  1993 
Alvin Tarlov  1992 
George Engel  1991 
Kerr White  1990 
John Stoeckle  1989 
Charles Lewis  1988 
Alvan Feinstein  1987 
David L. Sackett  1986