Print Email

The John M. Eisenberg National Award for
Career Achievement in Research

This award recognizes a senior member whose innovative research has changed the way we care for patients, conduct research, or educate students. It is named for the late John M. Eisenberg, MD, MBA, because of his unique role as researcher, mentor, and Director of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, where he was a strong advocate for research in general medicine. This award is supported by the SGIM Make a Difference! Campaign, memorial contributions from Dr. Eisenberg’s colleagues and friends, and the Hess Foundation.

Who Should be Nominated?

An SGIM member who has made major contributions by conducting research that had an important impact on how we do research, on how we care for patients, or on health policy.

Innovative research resulting in new research methods, new research instruments, or use of existing methods or instruments in an innovative manner. Research methodologies are inclusive and may include health services research, clinical epidemiology, clinical trials, qualitative research or cost-effectiveness analysis.

The relevance of the research to general medicine, how innovative the researcher was in conducting her or his work, and the impact of her or his research on the way research is performed or the way medicine is practiced.
Although not required for this award, successful candidates may also have had success as mentors, as advocates for research funding, and may have served in a position of research leadership.

What do I Need to Nominate?

  • Nominee must be a SGIM member. 
  • A formal nomination letter, two single-spaced pages or less, including a description of the nominee’s major contributions in one or more of the areas noted above, and why this person should receive the Eisenberg award.
  • A current copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae.

2023 John M. Eisenberg National Award for Career Achievement in Research Award Winner
Lisa A. Cooper, MD, MPH

Ready to Nominate?
Click Here

Important Dates 

October 6, 2023

Award nominations open

January 12, 2024

Award nominations close

March 13, 2024

All award recipients are notified  

May 15-18, 2024

Award presentations and acknowledgements at the 2024 SGIM Annual Meeting in Boston, MA

Past Recipients

2023 Lisa A. Cooper
2022 Nancy L. Keating
2021 Mary M. McDermott
2020 Eve Kerr
2019 Kevin Volpp
2018 Carol M. Mangione
2017 Joann G. Elmore
2016 Lisa V. Rubenstein
2015  Nancy Rigotti 
2014  Eliseo Perez-Stable
2013  Rod Hayward 
2012      John Z. Ayanian 
2011  Michael J. Fine 
2010  David Asch 
2009  Mary Tinetti 
2008  David W. Bates 
2007  William Tierney 
2006  Harry Selker
2005  Neil Powe 
2004  Richard Deyo 
2003  Daniel Singer 
2002  John R. Feussner 
2001  John M. Eisenberg