Print Email

The David Calkins Award in
Health Policy Advocacy

Next Application Opens Fall 2024

This award recognizes the extraordinary commitment that many members make when they choose to advocate on behalf of SGIM.  

It is named for the late David R. Calkins, MD, because of his tireless advocacy in health policy issues on behalf of SGIM since its inception as SREPCIM in 1978. 

Who Should be Nominated?

The recipient of the Calkins award must be either an associate or a full member of SGIM. 

The Selection committee will consider either a nominee who has devoted many years of continued commitment to health policy advocacy; or a nominee who had a good year, achieving a major triumph with regard to an SGIM advocacy issue. 

There would be no further restrictions; e.g. a government employee would be eligible if he or she demonstrated commitment to the policy issues important to SGIM members.

What do I Need to Nominate?

  • Nominee must be a SGIM member.
  • A formal nomination letter, two single-spaced pages or less, including a description of the nominee’s major contributions in one or more of the areas noted above, and why this person should receive the Calkins award.
  • A current copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae.

    2023 Calkins Award Winner
    Lilia Cervantes, MD

Past Recipients

2023 Lilia Cervantes  
2021 Stefan Kertesz
2019 Andrew Bindman
2018 Jeffrey R. Jaeger
2017 Mark D. Schwartz
2015  Carolyn Clancy 
2014  Laura Sessums
2013  Oliver Fein 
2012      Nicole Lurie
2011  Preston Reynolds
2010  Harry Selker 
2009  Mark Liebow
2008  John Goodson