Print Email

Best Published Research
 Paper of the Year Award

Inaugurated in 2000, the purpose of this award is to help members gain recognition for papers that have made significant contributions to generalist research.

Who Should be Nominated?

  • Nominations are open -- anyone, including the author, can nominate a paper
  • The nominee or first author of the paper must be a current member of SGIM
  • The paper must have been published in the calendar year (January 1 - December 31) previous to the national meeting
  • Selection will be based on the contribution the paper has made to generalist research

What do I Need to Nominate?

  • A formal nomination letter of one single-spaced page or less, stating reasons the nominee should receive the Best Research Paper award
  • A clean copy of the paper
  • Current contact information for the nominee


2023 Best Published Research Paper of the Year Award Winner
Paula Chatterjee, MD, MPH

Ready to Nominate?
Click Here

Important Dates

October 6, 2023

Award nominations open 

January 12, 2024

Award nominations close 

March 13, 2024

All award recipients are notified

May 15-18, 2024

Award presentations and acknowledgements at the 2024 SGIM Annual Meeting in Boston, MA 

Past Recipients

2023 Paula Chatterjee
2022 Carlos Irwin A. Oronce
2021 Safiya Richardson
2020 John Mafi
2019 Atheendar Venkataramani
2018  Michael L. Barnett
2017  Victoria L. Tang
2016 Rebecca T. Brown
2015  Richard Saitz 
2014  Gail L. Daumit 
2013  Alexander Smith 
2012     Lawrence J. Appel
2011  Amal N. Trivedi
2010  Kevin Volpp  
2009  Elbert S. Huang
2008  J. Michael McWilliams 
2007  Rachel M. Werner
2006  Richard L. Kravitz
2005  Bruce E. Landon 
2004  Thomas H. Gallagher
2003  Thomas M. Gill
2002  Brian F. Gage
2001  Wendy Levinson
2000  John Ayanian