Print Email

ACLGIM Leadership Award

The ACLGIM leadership award is given to a member of ACLGIM who is within the first 10 years of faculty appointment. The nominator(s) do not need to be members of ACLGIM.

The award recognizes skills in leadership in any number of areas of academic medicine, including clinical, educational, research or administrative efforts.

The criteria for the award include:

    • demonstrated leadership in a program or programs
    • setting the vision, mission and goals
    • showing how those were achieved
    • detailing how the nominee was effective in leading the program(s) to be successful 
    • detailing (as appropriate) techniques or skills 
    • describing (as appropriate) how the nominee has grown and developed as a leader 

Submission Criteria

  • Nominees current CV
  • One letter of nomination
  • A minimum of two letters of support from two different colleagues, mentors, and/or stakeholder groups.  Letters should include viewpoints on the nominee’s leadership as  well as comments on mentoring and support for leadership development.

SGIM continues its journey to becoming an anti-racist society that is committed to promoting and championing diversity, equity, and inclusion as a strategic priority. For all awards, we seek to ensure a diverse applicant pool that reflects our membership, and all applicants will be given equal consideration by a diverse panel of reviewers.

Applications not selected in 2022 will be carried over for consideration in 2023.  Those who submit a nomination will be contacted to update their application prior to consideration for future years.

Important Dates

October 6, 2023

Online nominations open

January 12, 2024

Online nominations close

March 13, 2024

Awardee notifications begin

March 15-18, 2024

Award winners acknowledged at 2024 SGIM Annual Meeting in Boston, MA

  Ready to Nominate?

Submit Nomination

Past Recipients

Tracey Henry
Sarah A. Tilstra
Ryan Greysen
Shana Ratner
Stacie R. Schmidt 
Walid Gellad
Carrie Herzke
Carla Spagnoletti
Aleem Bharwani
April Fitzgerald