Print Email

Call for Awards

The Society for General Internal Medicine Midwest region has developed rigorous criteria that recognize outstanding clinical educators, researchers, advocacy & community service, and leaders. These criteria go beyond those traditionally used for identifying those with excellence in research criteria, such as peer‐reviewed publications or grant support. 

Advocacy and Community Service Award

Recognizes those who have made significant contributions to improve the health of their community through advocacy and/or community service:
Advocacy leading to increased access or quality care for underserved populations

  • Leading or creating community‐based programs
  • Creating volunteer or advocacy opportunities for others
  • Fostering the growth of a community‐based program/organization
  • Having made significant personal/volunteer/advocacy contributions in the community or community‐based organization
  • Demonstrating a history of service to a community based organization

Award for Excellence in Clinician Education

Primarily for individuals in the early phase of their careers (e.g. assistant professors), but individuals in mid‐career with a new or recent focus on medical education may also apply.

Leader in General Internal Medicine (LGIM) Award

Recognizes mid‐level and senior‐level SGIM members who have promoted continued participation and contributions to Midwest SGIM from long‐ standing SGIM members.

Award for Excellence in Clinician Investigation

Highlight an outstanding Clinician Investigator in our region, applicable to individuals who are working towards developing their careers as Clinician Investigators.

All nominees must be members of SGIM.

Eligible individuals are welcome to nominate themselves.

The application consist of the following items:

  • CV
  • Letter of nomination from an SGIM member that includes reason for nomination and how they meet award criteria
  • Letter from division chief (who may/may not be an SGIM Member)

Important Dates:

August 8, 2022

Awards Nomination Opens

September 12, 2022

Awards Deadline

September 26, 2022

Decision Due By Awards Committee