Print Email

SGIM2020 Award and Grant Recipients

 , May 12, 2020

The Society of General Internal Medicine has announced its 2020 award and grant recipients. SGIM is proud and pleased to announce the recipients by category.

Recognition Awards

The Robert J. Glaser Award – Presented to Mark Linzer, MD (Hennepin Healthcare) for outstanding contributions to research, education, or both in generalism in medicine. The award is supported by grants from the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, the Commonwealth Fund, and individual contributors.

Herbert W. Nickens Award – Presented to Raegan W. Durant, MD, MPH (University of Alabama, Birmingham School of Medicine) for a demonstrated commitment to cultural diversity in medicine.

Elnora M. Rhodes Service Award – Presented to Amy S. Gottlieb, MD (University of Massachusetts Medical School, Baystate) for outstanding services to SGIM and its mission of promoting patient care, research, and education in primary care medicine.

ACLGIM Chiefs Recognition Award – Presented to Andrea L. Sikon, MD (Cleveland Clinic). This award is given annually to the general internal medicine Division Chief who most represents excellence in division leadership.

The ACLGIM UNLTD (Unified Leadership Training in Diversity) Award - Recognizes junior and mid-career faculty from underrepresented groups with proven leadership potential. Recipients of this award receive a training scholarship to attend the Leon Hess Leadership Institute hosted by ACLGIM. The 2020 recipients are Utibe R. Essien, MD, MPH (University of Pittsburgh), Joni S. Williams, MD, MPH (Medical College of Wisconsin) and Brandon Allport-Altillo, MD, MPH (University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School).

The ACLGIM Leadership Award is given to a member of the ACLGIM who is within the first 10 years of faculty appointment. It recognizes skills in leadership in any number of areas of academic medicine, including clinical, educational, research or administrative efforts. The 2019 recipient of this award is Shana Ratner, MD (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine).

The Quality and Practice Innovation Award - Recognizes general internists and their organization that have successfully developed and implemented innovative role model systems of practice improvement in ambulatory and/or inpatient clinical practice. The 2019 award was presented to Mitesh Patel, MBA, MD, MS/University of Pennsylvania Health System.

Research Awards

John M. Eisenberg National Award for Career Achievement in Research – Presented to Eve A. Kerr, MD, MPH (VA Ann Arbor Healthcare System), in recognition of a senior SGIM member whose innovative research has changed the way we care for patients, the way we conduct research, or the way we educate our students. SGIM member contributions and the Hess Foundation support this award.

Outstanding Junior Investigator of the Year – Presented to Zirui Song, MD, PhD (Harvard Medical School) for early career achievements and overall body of work that has made a national impact on generalist research.

Mid-Career Research Mentorship Award– Presented to Geetanjali Chander, MD, MPH (Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine) in recognition of mentoring activities as a general internal medicine investigator.

Best Published Research Paper of the Year – Presented to John Mafi, MD, MPH
(University of California Los Angeles David Geffen School of Medicine) for his 2019 publication “Evaluation of an Intervention to Reduce Low-Value Preoperative Care for Patients Undergoing Cataract Surgery at a Safety-Net Health System.” This award is offered to help members gain recognition for their papers that have made significant contributions to generalist research.

Founders’ Grant– Presented to David S. Burstein, MD (Northwestern University Feinburg School of Medicine). The SGIM Founders Award provides $10,000 support to junior investigators who exhibit significant potential for a successful research career and who need a “jump start” to establish a strong research funding base.

Mary O'Flaherty Horn Scholarship – Presented to Tyra Fainstad, MD (University of Washington School of Medicine). This three-year career development grant is awarded to an outstanding junior medical school faculty member in general internal medicine.

Clinician-Educator Awards

National Award for Career Achievements in Medical Education – Presented to Paul M. Haidet, MD, MPH (Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine) for a lifetime of contributions to medical education.

Frederick L. Brancati Mentorship & Leadership Award – Presented to Paul D. O’Rourke, Jr. MD, MPH (Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine). The Brancati Award honors an individual at the junior faculty level who inspires and mentors trainees to pursue general internal medicine and lead the transformation of health care through innovations in research, education, and practice.

National Award for Scholarship in Medical Education – Presented to Kathleen Hanley, MD (New York University School of Medicine) for her individual contributions to medical education in one or more of the following categories: Scholarship of Integration, Scholarship in Educational Methods and Teaching, and Scholarship in Clinical Practice.

Mid-Career Mentorship in Education Award – Presented to Rachel Bonnema, MD, MS
(University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center). This award recognizes the mentoring activities of general medicine educators who are actively engaged in education research and mentorship of junior clinician educators.

Leave a Comment

Only comments approved by post author will be displayed