Print Email

Society of General Internal Medicine Names New President and Council Members

 , May 10, 2017

The Society of General Internal Medicine (SGIM) has announced that Thomas H. Gallagher, MD will be inducted as the 40th president of SGIM at the 2017 Annual Meeting on April 22, 2017 during the Pass the Gavel Ceremony.  Dr. Gallagher will serve a one-year term as president but will be on the Council as an officer for a three-year term.

Thomas H. Gallagher, M.D., is a general internist who is a Professor in the Department of Medicine and the Department of Bioethics and Humanities at the University of Washington.  Dr. Gallagher received his medical degree from Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, completed his residency in Internal Medicine at Barnes Hospital, Washington University, St. Louis, and completed a fellowship in the Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholars Program, UCSF.

Dr. Gallagher’s research addresses the interfaces between healthcare quality, communication, and transparency. Dr. Gallagher has published over 85 articles and book chapters on patient safety and error disclosure, which have appeared in leading journals including JAMA, New England Journal of Medicine, Health Affairs, Surgery, Journal of Clinical Oncology, Archives of Internal Medicine, Archives of Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine, and the Joint Commission Journal.  His work in error disclosure received the 2004 Best Published Research Paper of the Year award from the Society of General Internal Medicine, as well as the 2012 MITSS Hope Award.  He also received a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Investigator Award in Health Policy Research.  He is the principal investigator on two grants from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, including an AHRQ patient safety and medical liability demonstration project entitled “Communication to Prevent and Respond to Medical Injuries: WA State Collaborative.”  He also is principal investigator on grants from the National Cancer Institute, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the Greenwall Foundation.  At the University of Washington, he directs the UW Medicine Center for Scholarship in Patient Care Quality and Safety, and also directs the UW Program in Hospital Medicine.  

The Society has also announced the recent election of new Council officers and members-at-large who will begin their three-year terms as of the annual meeting.  They are:

President Elect: Giselle Corbie-Smith, MD, MSc
Dr. Corbie-Smith is Professor of Social Medicine and Medicine at the School of Medicine, and nationally recognized for her scholarly work on the practical and ethical issues regarding involvement of minorities in research.  She directs the Program on Health Disparities at the Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research at UNC-Chapel Hill

Treasurer Elect: Mark D. Schwartz, MD
Dr. Mark Schwartz is Professor and Vice-Chair of the Department of Population Health at New York University School of Medicine (NYUSOM)

Council Members-At-Large: 

Luci K. Leykum, MD, MBA, MSc
Dr. Luci Leykum is a Professor of Medicine in the Division of Hospital Medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center – San Antonio.

Monica E. Peek, MD, MPH, MSc 
Dr. Monica Peek is an Associate Professor of Medicine at University of Chicago Medicine and Associate Director, Chicago Center for Diabetes Translational Research.