Print Email

SGIM Elects New Council Members

 , April 12, 2018

The Society of General Internal Medicine (SGIM) has announced that Gisele Corbie-Smith, MD, MSc will be inducted as the 41st president of SGIM at the 2018 Annual Meeting on April 13, 2018 during the Pass the Gavel Ceremony. Dr. Corbie-Smith will serve a one-year term as president but will be on the Council as an officer for a three-year term.

Giselle Corbie-Smith, MD MSc is a Kenan Distinguished Professor, Professor of Medicine and Social Medicine at the UNC School of Medicine, Director, UNC Center of Health Equity Research, Director of the Community Academic Resources for Engaged Scholarship (CARE) Services of the NC Translational and Clinical Sciences Institute, the home of UNC’s CTSA grant, and Co-PI for the Advancing Change Leadership Clinical Scholars Program, funded by Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) in 2015. The Clinical Scholars Program provides intensive learning, collaboration, networking, and coaching to inter-professional teams of clinically active professionals improving health across the country. Her empirical work has employed both qualitative and quantitative methods and has focused on the methodological, ethical, and practical issues faced by mandated inclusion of minorities in research and the need for this research to address racial disparities in health. Dr. Corbie-Smith is accomplished in drawing communities, faculty, and health care providers into working partnerships in clinical and translational research. This engagement ultimately transforms the way that academic investigators and community members interact while boosting public trust in research.

The Society has also announced the recent election of new Council officers and members-at-large who will begin their three-year terms (2018-2021) as of the annual meeting. They are:

President Elect: Karen DeSalvo, MD, MPH, MS
Professor, Internal Medicine and Population Health; The University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School

Dr. DeSalvo serves as a professor in the Divisions of Primary Care and Value-Based Health at The University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School. Her work focuses in the areas of community health, medical care and research related to the social determinants of health, with an emphasis on leveraging technology and digital health in traditional public health programs and strategies. Dr. DeSalvo most recently served as Acting Assistant Secretary for Health at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, where she oversaw numerous public health offices across the nation and the Office of the Surgeon General.

Secretary-Elect: Mitch Feldman, MD, MPhil, FACP
Dr. Mitchell Feldman is a Professor of Medicine and Chief, Division of General Internal Medicine and Associate Vice Provost, Faculty Mentoring at the University of California, San Francisco.

Council Members-At-Large:

Maria (Gaby) Frank, MD
Dr. Gaby Frank is Interim Chief, Division of Hospital Medicine, Denver Health Hospital Authority;
Human Body Block Director and Associate Professor of Medicine, University of Colorado, School of Medicine.

Reena Karani, MD
Dr. Reena Karani is Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education & Curricular Affairs; Director, Institute for Medical Education; and Professor of Medicine, Medical Education and Geriatrics & Palliative Medicine at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.
Follow SGIM on Social Media:

Twitter: @SocietyGIM or follow #SGIM18

Leave a Comment

Only comments approved by post author will be displayed