Print Email

SGIM Newly Elected Officers and Council Members

Congratulations to the newly elected Council officers and members-at-large who will begin their three-year terms (2019-2022) as of the annual meeting. They are:

DeSalvoweb.jpgPresident Elect: Jean S. Kutner, MD, MSPH

Dr. Jean Kutner serves as the inaugural Chief Medical Officer of University of Colorado Hospital and the Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs. Her personal mission is to enhance care and quality of life for people with serious illness and their family caregivers. Dr. Kutner’s professional career has been devoted to achieving her mission’s goals through evidence generation, implementation of evidence into practice, clinical program development, education, mentorship and local and national leadership.


Treasurer Elect: Hollis Day, MD, MS

Dr. Hollis Day is the Associate Professor and Chief of Geriatrics at the Boston University School of Medicine. She is a clinician‐educator in both ambulatory and inpatient settings. Dr. Day’s areas of expertise are the intersection of geriatrics and general medicine, interprofessional education and mentoring.

Council Members at Large


Rita Lee, MD

Dr. Rita Lee is the Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine. Her passions as a clinician-educator include social justice, leadership, and advocacy.


Michael P. Pignone, MD, MPH

Dr. Michael P. Pignone is currently Professor of Medicine and Inaugural Chair of the Department of Medicine at the Dell Medical School of the University of Texas- Austin. His research is focused on chronic disease prevention and treatment and improving medical decision-making, particularly for preventive care.